Southeast European Affairs

Special Assistant to
the President and Senior Director

The Office advises and assists the President and National Security Advisor on all aspects of U.S. foreign policy with respect to the eight countries of the region, including Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Macedonia, Romania, Slovenia, and the Former Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro).

The Office advises and assists the President in carrying out his policies of support of democracy, free market-based economic prosperity and security in SEE. Among the issues on which the Office provides advice and assistance to the President are; SEE integration with other key Euro-Atlantic institutions; promotion of intra-SEE cooperation and friendship, support for U.S. trade and investment with SEE; the development of military relations between the U.S. and SEE democracies; U.S. economic assistance priorities with SEE; and support for the strengthening of democratic institutions and practices within the region.

Return to the NSC Home Page