Central and Eastern Europe Affairs

Special Assistant to
the President and Senior Director

The Office advises and assists the President and National Security Advisor on all aspects of U.S. foreign policy with respect to the eleven countries of the region, including Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Romania, Bulgaria and Albania.

The Office advises and assists the President in carrying out his policies of support for democracy, free market-based economic prosperity and security in CEE. Among the issues on which the Office provides advise and assistance to the President are: the enlargement of NATO and related aspects of European security; CEE integration with other key Euroatlantic institutions; promotion of intra-CEE cooperation and friendship, for example, between Romania and Hungary; support for U.S. trade and investment with CEE; the development of military relations between the U.S. and CEE democracies; U.S. economic assistance priorities with CEE; and support for the strengthening of democratic institutions and practices within the region.

Return to the NSC Home Page