Snapshot of Rwanda


Rwanda is a land-locked country. To the north and west, Rwanda is bordered by the Democratic Republic of Congo. Burundi borders Rwanda to the south, while Tanzania borders Rwanda to the east.

Land Area:

Rwanda extends over 10,000 square miles, an area about the size of Maryland.


Rwanda’s landscape is most noted for its abundant hills and uplands.


The weather is Rwanda is mild and temperate. There are two rainy seasons.


There are 7.6 million people living in Rwanda. Almost every Rwandan belongs to one of two ethnic groups: Hutu (85% of the population) and Tutsi (14%).


Three languages are widely spoken in Rwanda: French, English, and Kinyarwanda.

Major Cities:

The capital of Rwanda is Kigali, a city with a population of about 236,000. Other cities include Gitarama, Butare, Ruhengeri, and Gisenyi.


Rwanda achieved independence from Belgium on July 1, 1962. In 1994, a civil war, which culminated in an ethnic genocide, consumed the lives of many thousands of Rwandans. A government of national unity formed in the wake of the civil war. Though the right of suffrage is suspended at the present time, the national unity government is leading a transition to multi-party democracy. The president of Rwanda is Pasteur Bizimunga.


Rwanda’s economy depends primarily on rain-fed, semi-subsistence farming. The civil war in 1994 greatly disturbed economic activity and food production. Since 1994, the Rwandan economy has grown steadily and food production is approaching pre-war levels. Rwanda has few natural resources. Coffee and tea are it biggest exports.

Follow the President | Today | Itinerary | Photos
Speeches | Briefings | Countries | Issues | Partnerships | Links

[Footer icon]

[White House icon] [Help Desk icon]

To comment on this service,
send feedback to the Web Development Team.