Appendix 4 - The President's Committee
of Advisors on Science and Technology


John H. Gibbons
Assistant to the President for Science and Technology

John A. Young
Former President and CEO
Hewlett-Packard Co.


Norman R. Augustine
Chairman and CEO
Martin Marietta Corporation

Francisco J. Ayala
Donald Bren Professor of Biological Sciences
Professor of Philosophy
University of California, Irvine

Murray Gell-Mann
Professor, Santa Fe Institute
R.A. Millikan Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics
California Institute of Technology

David A. Hamburg
President, Carnegie Corporation of New York

John P. Holdren
Class of 1935 Professor of Energy
University of California, Berkeley

Diana MacArthur
Chair and CEO
Dynamac Corporation

Shirley M. Malcom
Head, Directorate for Education and Human Resources Programs
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Mario J. Molina
Lee and Geraldine Martin Professor of Environmental Sciences
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Peter H. Raven
Director, Missouri Botanical Garden
Engelmann Professor of Botany
Washington University in Saint Louis

Sally K. Ride
Director, California Space Institute
Professor of Physics
University of California, San Diego

Judith Rodin
President, University of Pennsylvania

Charles A. Sanders
Chairman, Glaxo Inc.

Phillip A. Sharp
Professor of Biology
Head, Department of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

David E. Shaw
CEO, D.E. Shaw and Co.

Charles M. Vest
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Virginia V. Weldon
Senior Vice President for Public Policy
Monsanto Company

Lilian Shiao-Yen Wu
Member, Research Staff
Thomas J. Watson Research Center