Office of Science and Technology Policy

For Immediate Release 
Contact: 202/456-6108
June 19, 2000

President Clinton Honors Nation's Outstanding Math and Science Teachers

President Clinton announced the recipients of the 1999 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the nation's highest honor for elementary and secondary school mathematics and science teaching.

"A teacher's influence never ends," said President Clinton.  "By challenging our children to learn and succeed in the areas of math and science, these excellent teachers provide them with the tools and the know-how they will need to prosper in the highly-competitive, global information age of the twenty-first century."

 Teachers nominated for this award go through a review process ending with individual approval of each candidate by the President.  The 1999 recipients come from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, United States territories, and the schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense.  The 200 awardees, selected out of 648 finalists, are honored for their performance, leadership, and dedication.  The National Science Foundation (NSF) administers this award program on behalf of the White House.  The program was established in 1983.

Each teacher receives a $7,500 educational grant for their school and Presidential recognition.  All 200 of the awardees have traveled to Washington, D.C. this week for a series of recognition events.

For a list of the awardees, visit the National Science Foundation's website at:


Office of Science and Technology Policy
1600 Pennsylvania Ave, N.W
Washington, DC 20502
Flag BAr
[Home Page][Citizens' Handbook icon][Help Desk]

To comment on this service, send feedback to the Web Development Team.